Email this Page

A+PEL

Association of Professional Educators of Louisiana 

 

Professionalism , Progress, and Pride -

A+PEL is a member-driven, statewide organization formed in 1987 to create a focus on excellence in education and to advance the recognition of teachers as career professionals. A+PEL is dedicated to making Louisiana a better place for teachers to teach and students to learn.

We believe every child deserves the best possible education and our organization promotes your right to make decisions that enhance the quality of education and improve your use of time and resources.

· We believe that teachers should be free to join the professional organization of their choice, to control their own careers, and to negotiate individual compensation.

· As an independent teachers' organization, A+PEL is a positive alternative to labor unions. Your dues are used primarily to provide the member services that benefit you directly.

· A+PEL is opposed to compulsory membership of any form. We believe strikes and boycotts are detrimental to students, teaching professionals, and our communities. We are committed to improving education through cooperation, not conflict.

· Your membership in A+PEL secures important legal protections through excellent liability insurance coverage, professional rights services and enhanced benefits, all at extremely affordable annual dues. A+PEL provides strong, effective representation on legislative issues concerning you as a professional educator.

As members of A+PEL, we create a better future for students and teaching professionals, and promote a progressive standard for education in this state.

Events Include:

Monthly Meetings

Professional Development Opportunities

Community Service Projects -

  • Walk for the Hungry
  • Clothing Drive
  • School Supply Drive

SGA & Alumni Crawfish Boil

For more information, contact officers at: apelofficers@yahoo.com

Current Officers:

President: Erica Glinky ~ EGlinky@olhcc.edu

Vice-President: Jessica Fetter ~ JFetter@olhcc.edu

Secretary: Shannon O'Flynn ~ SOflynn@olhcc.edu

Treasurer: Andrea Lada ~ ALada@olhcc.edu

Historian: Monique Henderson ~ MHenderson@olhcc.edu

Moderator: Dr. Lisa Sullivan ~ LSullivan@olhcc.edu