Email this Page

Grants: Federal Pell Grants

Federal Pell Grants

Federal Pell Grants are generally awarded to undergraduate students who have not yet earned a bachelor's degree.  Eligibility is determined by the U.S. Department of Education, using a standard formula established by Congress.

The Pell Grant maximum for the 2014-2015 award year (July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015) is $5,645.  The award amount will depend on:

  • Expected family contribution (EFC)
  • Cost of attendance
  • Full-time or part-time status
  • Length of enrollment in an academic year

Students may only receive one Pell Grant award in an award year and may not receive Pell Grant funds from more than one school at a time.